Dauphin County Commissioners George P. Hartwick, III,  Justin Douglas, and Mike Pries are essentially the CEOs of the county, with authority over budgets and finance, debts, contracts, appointment of department heads and staff in departments that report directly to the board, as well as appointments to the many authorities, commissions and boards. Commissioners are elected to four-year terms.

The Commissioners work as a team with the elected county row officers as well as the courts, law enforcement, and other first responders to ensure the safety of our community. The Commissioners are responsible for emergency preparedness for efforts such as the COVID-19 mass vaccination clinic and emergency weather events.

Because of the size and complexity of Dauphin County government, the three Commissioners have oversight responsibility for different departments and services. When action is needed, the oversight commissioner brings the issue to the board for consideration.

The commissioners also oversee the Dauphin County Prison and serve on its board of directors.

In recent years, the Commissioners have led Pennsylvania’s 67 counties in developing new ways to promote  Economic Development, help municipalities attack blight and fix aging bridges and infrastructure, and preserve open space – all without putting an additional burden on taxpayers.

How to contact the Dauphin County Commissioners Office:
Phone:  717-780-6300
Mail:      2 S. Second Street, 4th Floor
               Harrisburg, PA 17101

Click here for information about the board’s public meetings.

Meet the Commissioners

Hartwick Headshot Online


Board Chairman George P. Hartwick, III
Contact Commissioner Hartwick

George was first elected to the board in 2004. At 24, he was elected as Steelton’s mayor, becoming the youngest mayor ever elected in Pennsylvania.

Click here to learn more about George P. Hartwick, III.

Justin Douglas


Board Vice-Chairman Justin Douglas
Contact Commissioner Douglas

Justin Douglas came to the board in 2024 with a passion for issues related to social justice, prison reform and LGBTQ+ inclusion.

Click here to learn more about Justin Douglas.

Pries Headshot


Board Secretary Mike Pries 
Contact Commissioner Pries

Mike has deep roots in the community and was first appointed to the board in 2010, including serving as Chairman of the Derry Township Board of Supervisors.

Click here to learn more about Mike Pries.